Nuts! Or More Precisely, a Lack Thereof...........

Started by Bookwus, 26 February 2008, 05:25

Previous topic - Next topic

Bookwus

Hiya All,

This is my first time dropping this particular engine.

I've dropped lots of VW engines, most of the manual tranny variety, but all from the 68 to 70 era.  After all, I am a 1970 kinda guy.  Last time I did engines I had a local shop (they had a great deal on a sound AS engine) do the installation.  I bought a 73 AH series engine from them. 

Well, I got all the wiring and lines disconnected.  Removed a bunch of stuff from the engine bay for an easier drop.  Got all the ATF lines accounted for, etc, etc.  But I've run into a unique problem.  Namely, the upper left engine to tranny bolt.  It seems that after 70 there is no longer a nut at this point.  Instead VW opted to run a bolt through from the tranny side.  The bolt screws into a boss in the engine casting.  So................the bolt HAS to be removed from the tranny side.  But How?  I can't even get a wrench or a socket on the thing.  It's head is tucked under the clutch arm behind the servo.  Even if I remove the heat exchanger and the servo it's going to be darn near impossible to get to it.

So I'm wondering, do all of you post-1970 guys have some sort of trick to get this thing loose?  PLEASE SHARE!

By the way, the engine is coming out to make way for a bone stock 1970 engine.  Yay!  No more nasty bolt!  Welcome good old nut!
Mike

1970 AS Bug

72VDub

Do you still have the fan shroud on the motor?  Also how much tin is left on the motor? 

Bookwus

Hiya 72,

Very interesting question!

I did attempt to remove the fan shroud with the engine in place so I would have a bit better access to the engine tranny connection.  This fan shroud does not want to come off.  I went through all the disconnects.  Even checked it through Bentley.  The fan shroud seems to be solidly hung up on the left side.  Yep, left side bolt is out and the flap connecting lever is off.