1975 std beetle with AS

Started by KustomVW, 25 December 2012, 17:16

Previous topic - Next topic

KustomVW

Im not new to the beetles but i am new to the AutoStick would like some help understanding the difference in auto and semi auto.. i'd rather have three pedals but anywho..
when i bought this car for 150 USD the engine compartment was stripped of all the goodies so i have to start from nothing
now i've gathered thru this website (which has been very helpful and informative) the information on all the vacuum stuff and how it all works but here are some unanswered questions i couldn't find or got lost

which hose is which and where does it go

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151409018216756&set=a.10151257725366756.519524.598391755&type=3&permPage=1

Now here im thinking there is a problem but correct me if i'm wrong please, the arm is resting in this position but will not move any further towards the front of the car, but will move to the bellhousing, i believe thats backwards?

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151409017521756&set=a.10151257725366756.519524.598391755&type=3&permPage=1

volkenstein

Mike,
            Hi and welcome to the lunatic fringe! . Well, if I were you I'd take lots of piccies as even the humble mods here haven't had a chance to peer intently at a '75 model A-S! I saw one for sale years ago here in Aus. Count it - 1 .

So I had a lookie at Pic No 1....and I'll have to go to the Fiche/Manuals for that. By all rights the two hoses (large dia and small dia) should be bolted to the same side of the bellhousing. BUT...you have a '75...as far as I know you have later parts on that beast. IE..in *theory* it should be F.I., it should have a "park" position for the gearstick, it should have only a small aperature at the very bottom of the bellhousing etc etc.