Meet Betty! My 1975 autostick super beetle

Started by vdub11, 01 January 2012, 13:51

Previous topic - Next topic

vdub11

Like the title says this is my new 75 sb autostick w 31k original miles. This is not my first vw by any means but it is my first autostick. I'm a welder/fabricator by trade so having the mechanical mind I do the autostick intrigues and amazes me. Ok on to the pics!

68autobug

What a lovely original Beetle...

Congratulations....   what many autostick owners would do to get a car in that condition..
We never had that color or those huge bumpers [USA spec only] in Australia.
Those sports wheels from Germany were never on any Beetles sold in Australia either.

thanks for sharing Your EXCELLENT car...

Lee in Australia

-- Helping keep Autostick beetles on the road --
   -1968 Silver metallic 1600 single port Beetle - with BOSCH  SVDA and new BROSOL H30/31 carburetor with GENIE Extractor exhaust system with a quiet thunderbird muffler

http://photobucket.com/68autobug

vdub11

Thanks, and yeah the bumpers are massive haha! Also I'd rather the car had the steel wheels and hubcaps than the sport wheels. I'm looking for a cheap set now that I can put some white walls on. One question.. When stopped at red lights do u move the shifter to neutral or just leave in 1st? Also qhen do you ever need to use low gear? Sorry I'm brand new to autosticks :)

68autobug

You can of course put the stick into neutral , which I usually do...
and You can start off in low gear and then go to D1 & then D2
but I have The habit of going from LOW to D2 when driving in traffic...
using LOW gives You a fast takeoff...
VW said Low was only to be used when parking or going up steep inclines with a full load..
but many people have found its OK to use all the time...
maybe VW didn't advertise using it as You cannot go too fast in it and You do use more fuel..
so, it would have been detrimental to advise people to use it in normal driving... [but only for those reasons]